top of page
  • Writer's pictureOlivia Wentzell

Got to Blast!

Updated: Oct 10, 2019

Some of the most fun things to design are those that we interact with the most! A water bottle, a glass door, a chair, the layout of a popular social media platform, to name a few.


In the past semester at Tufts, I was lucky enough to be able to better my design skilling in a Computer Interface Design Seminar (which I introduced in my last blog). While we were working on new website layouts, themes, and icons every week, we also had the opportunity to work on some smaller design projects.


The one I enjoyed the most was :

A JetBlue Boarding Pass Redesign

 

While a paper boarding pass is used less frequently nowadays, we believe it is due to the inability to quickly find important flight information. Tasked with the redesigning of a jetBlue paper boarding passes, I focused on the importance of quickly identifying significant information, such as the passenger's gate or seat number. I took the signature blues and included them and the jetBlue icon in the upper left corner of the pass. Instead of having the pass horizontal, I decided to switch to a vertical layout. In doing this, I was able to include a faint airplane seat map with the passenger’s assigned seat highlighted in the background. The first few items on the pass, flight number, gate, boarding zone, and seat, were the few I believed were the most important to the passengers. These items are clearly labeled and bold with little distraction around them. While a small detail, common complaint from customers is that, due to the likelihood of having a connecting flight, it is often hard to distinguish between multiple boarding passes. By including the current location pin to the left of the departing city, and an arrow pointing to the destination city, passengers are able to easily identify between passes. Take a look at my new and improved boarding pass below!



How would you redesign a paper boarding pass?


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page